The School of Planning and Architecture (SPA) bill, 2014, was introduced by Ms Smriti Zubin Irani, Minister of Human Resource Development, in the Lok Sabha on December 2nd, 2014. This bill passed by the Lok Sabha on December 3rd, 2014, and became an actor. This ActAct plans to establish and declare Schools of Planning and Architecture as Institutions of national importance to promote and encourage education and research in architectural studies, including human settlement planning.

According to its Statement of Aims and Purposes, Its objective is to provide three subsisting SPAs in New Delhi, Bhopal, and Vijayawada, the status of institutes of National importance. It authorizes them to give degrees to their students. The SPA, New Delhi founded in 1959 and bestowed with the quality of "Deemed to be university" in 1979. SPAs in Bhopal and Vijayawada were founded in 2008.[1]

The function of SPAs is to aim at five points, which are as follows.

(i). Undertake research, analysis, and innovations in architecture, planning, design, and related activities;

(ii). Supervise and regulate the residence and govern the discipline of students;

(iii). Take examinations and award degrees, diplomas, and other titles;

(iv). Notify and make arrangements for various posts with the prior permission of the centre;

(v). Build and maintain such infrastructure as may be required etc.

The Board shall be the supreme governing body of each SPA. A Chairperson heads the Board. It will consist of a delegate from the Universe Grant Commission (UGC), All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE), Council of Architecture, specialists from the architecture department, etc. The Board is accountable for the general administration, superintendence, and control of the matters of the SPAs. It shall have the authority to reexamine the Senate's acts, settlements on policies relating to management and operation of the SPA, make enactments, etc.

The Senate will be the chief educational body of every SPA. It will be head by the Director of the SPA and consist of educationists of reputation, all administrators of departments, an appointee of the Institute of Town Planners, etc. It shall have the power to define the guidelines and manner for admission, recommend to the Board new plans and policies and programs of study, and specify the comprehensive academic content and academic schedule. The Financing of SPAs will remain to be centrally financed.

Also, A Council shall be established to harmonize the action of all the SPAs. It will consist of Diplomats having administrative control over professional education, two Members of Parliament, Chairmen of Indian Institute of Architects, University Grants Commission (UGC), All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE), Director of every SPA, two secretaries to the central government dealing with civil advancement, etc. Central functions of the Council include –

(i). Counselling on subjects related to the term of the courses and degrees;

(ii). Advice to the centre, recommendations for the establishment of new SPAs;

(iii). Monitoring the advancement plan and broadly indicating the financial suggestions of such projects for each SPA;

(iv). Laying down policy concerning cadres, levying of fees etc. The members of the Board of Governors, Academic Council, and all other organizations of every SPA shall proceed to operate in the same way until a new Board, Council, or committee is established.

This ActAct may require some suggestions, such as architecture students should also be taught the legal complexities associated with the architectural field and architecture laws. And many more.